I Can Do This. Maybe.

Well, I signed up for my first ever 10k. Considering how “well” my last5k went, I don’t know what I’m thinking. In my defense though, that was several years ago, and I feel like I’m in better shape now. Plus I have 8 weeks to train, which is convenient because I’ve found several 10k training plans, most of which take 8-10 weeks.  Regardless of the outcome, I’m signed up for the Rum Rum 10k on Memorial Day weekend! I tried to get the boy to sign up with me, but I think I might have to just be content with him cheering me on at the finish line.

 
It’s unfortunate that I am traveling this week, which means my runs/workouts will all have to be indoors (I don’t trust unfamiliar areas/neighborhoods very much, plus I don’t want to get lost!).  However, running on the treadmill this first week should allow me to time/track my distance and keep and even pace, which will give me a good baseline for the coming weeks.

 
Here is what my training plan looks like for Week 1.  I have modified a basic 10k training plan I found online to match my schedule and resources. Next week I start another round of “boot camp” at the local gym, so that will affect weeks 2 through 8.
Monday – off
Tuesday – run 2m
Wednesday – strength 
Thursday – run 2.5m
Friday – cardio
Saturday – off
Sunday – run 2.5m
 
Running friends out there… What was your first 10k experience like? Do you have any tips/recommendations as I begin my training? I enjoy running, but up until the point my “running habit” has consisted mostly of jogging randomly whenever I get the urge, rather than anything consistent.
Published by

Brittany

I am a late 20-something living with her husband and 6 furry children. I love crafts, gardening, board games, baking, hiking, beer, video games and books. My blog reflects every aspect of my life.

Leave a Reply

