Old School Planning

In our digital age, it seems weird to have a physical, paper planner. However, when I’m managing my own business full-time, selling Thirty-One on the side, and trying to manage a social life, a paper planner just becomes easier.

Originally I had purchased the Passion Planner. When I ordered in the beginning of December I was told that I would have it by the end of January. However, February 9th rolled around and I STILL had not received my planner, nor was I getting any response from the company, so I requested that my order be cancelled. The following week my planner showed up in the mail, followed by an email from the company that it had shipped before they could process my refund. According the to the tracking label, it didn’t ship until the 14th, several days after I had requested the refund. Reading through the comments on their Facebook and Instagram page reveals hundreds (thousands?) of other unsatisfied customers who’s emails went unreplied to, planners arrived damaged or missing parts, planners arrived after orders were cancelled, etc. And despite frequently promising “daily updates”, Angelia Trinidad and the Passion Planner team only released vague, somewhat contradictory updates once ever 10-14 days. I like the concept of the planner, but the abysmal customer service left a very sour taste in my mouth, so I won’t likely be purchasing from this company in the future. I’m still waiting back on how they would like me to return the planner so I can get my refund, as the planner isn’t useful to me at the point.

Anyway, at the suggested of others in the PP page, I wend and ordered the Tools4Wisdom planner from Amazon, which is actually quite similar. It’s currently on sale for only $14.97 and Prime eligible! It’s actually quite similar to the Passion Planner, and came out before the PP did. I’ve been using it for a few weeks now and it’s definitely been helping my keep my schedule together quite a bit!  Here is the review that I can give so far after a few weeks of use:

PROS:

  • Spiral bound, so I can fold it over or spread it completely open.
  • Starts on Monday instead of Sunday (this may be a con for some?)
  • Plenty of space for to-do lists (personal and other) and goals for each week to be written down.
  • Starts at 5am and goes until 11pm
  • Goals and priorities list at the beginning of each month to get your thoughts organized.
  • Great customer service — followed up with me after my Amazon order and provided me with contact information

CONS:

  • Time slots are only labeled once per page (Monday and Thursday), so for the other days of the week you have to follow the boxes over if you want to write something in a specific time.
  • Space for writing is a little small in the weekly time slots.
  • Paper is a little thing to use with my Bic markers — colored pens work fine though.
  • Washi tape sticks to the paper and can’t be re positioned.

I am already thinking ahead to next year and am considering joining on the Erin Condren bandwagon if I don’t purchase Tools4Wisdom again. I have heard great things, although I struggle with paying $50 for a planner. (Pssst, if you use my link, you can save $10!).

Are you a paper planner user or do you prefer digital? Paper planner users — what’s your favorite planner and why?

Published by

Brittany

I am a late 20-something living with her husband and 6 furry children. I love crafts, gardening, board games, baking, hiking, beer, video games and books. My blog reflects every aspect of my life.

Leave a Reply

