The 21 Day Fix, Brittany-style

So if you’re involved with the dieting/fitness world in any way, you’ve probably heard it the 21 Day Fix. It is one of the Beachbody programs, and involves portion control containers combined with a 7-day-a-week exercise plan.

It’s also about $60. And while I have heard great things about it from both friends and family who have done it, $60 is a good chunk of change. So with the being said, I decided to go my own route to doing essentially the same thing.

Up first is the food/portion control part of the Fix. A quick search on Amazon found me lots of different versions of portion control containers, almost all of which are the same size as the ones in the 21 Day Fix, and are even color coded the same. I ended up going with this set:

61qz-phzkhl-_sl250_
7 Piece Portion Control Containers

Next up is the workouts. I am already seeing a trainer once a week and visiting the gym 2-3 other times each week, so I just needed to bump things up. I’m not doing the exact same workouts as the 21 Day Fix Program, but there are LOTS of free 30-minute workout videos available on Youtube.  So just set yourself a schedule of which days you will do a regular gym workout or which days you will be doing any particular workout video. 30 minutes every day of the week and be sure to switch things up each day to keep your mind and body on their toes!

For myself I wanted to really be able to see what kind of changes my body went through in the 3 weeks, so I created a fitness journal. A space at the beginning for my “before” measurements, pages for my “during” and “after” measurements, and a daily food log. This is where I keep a record of what I eat each day and track as I use up each of my different colors of containers for the day.

I am currently on day 4. Today was a bit of a “cheat day” due to circumstances both within and out of my control. Next weekend my sister is getting married, and I can guarantee that will be a cheat day as well. However, I’m confident that I will be able to stay pretty on track the other days of the week, and a cheat meal here and there isn’t unreasonable.

 

Have you ever done the 21 Day Fix or a similar program? What were your results like?

 

 

Published by

Brittany

I am a late 20-something living with her husband and 6 furry children. I love crafts, gardening, board games, baking, hiking, beer, video games and books. My blog reflects every aspect of my life.

Leave a Reply

